When Cross-Genre Becomes No Genre

I’m over at the IBC blog today with a guest post that looks at figuring out how to best position your book genre-wise for success. Or, more accurately, how not having a specific genre for your book makes it harder to get traction, at least based on my experiences with Thrown Out.

Come on over and join the conversation in comments. And if you’re an indie author who hasn’t checked out the Indie Book Collective, it’s a great resource for indie authors at all stages of your careers.

5 thoughts on “When Cross-Genre Becomes No Genre

  1. This is one of my biggest hurdles. I’m not certain of my audience. Romance, friendship, science, shape shiftes, fantasy, paranormal, diversity. Yet the five star on Amazon says “Fun read, imaginative…” Romance and love are overdone so where do you place a story that’s centered around a true friendship and trust, but where characters are tiger shark shape shifters?

    Cora Blu

    • As a reader, I’d say the tiger shark shapeshifters make it squarely paranormal, whether romance or not. If I bought a book in another category and found out it had shapeshifters, I’d feel misled. (Not a big paranormal fan, unfortunately.)

      • I can see that. I appreciate the feedback. It’s always hard when you’re on the inside looking out. I’m not a fan of dark para so I understand the feeling of being mislead when it begins to get darker and darker and not labeled that way.

        Thanks, Cora Blu

  2. I had worries of falling through the cracks also because The Chakra Diaries, my first book, has crossed genres – spiritual fiction and also self-help info on yoga and meditation. My readers decided for me that my book was a self-help best-seller in the yoga, chakras, and meditation categories on Amazon. I quickly learned what matters most is not the way an author labels their work, but how the readers perceive it. There are thousands of readers interested in chakras, yoga and meditation, and I hope to reach them with my next two books.
    Thanks,
    Becca Chopra
    http://www.IndieAuthorCounsel.com

    • I think books that have that ability to land in a nonfiction category probably do better overall — I know my friend Teri’s novel routinely lands in the parenting bestseller list, which is much easier to crack than literary fiction. Your story and hers are good reminders to consider those categories as well when tagging and categorizing books on Amazon.

Comments are closed.