Book Review: “The Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors” by Michele Young-Stone

The Handbook for Lightning Strike SurvivorsThe Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors by Michele Young-Stone
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was lucky enough to hear Michele read a selection from this before I bought the book, which bumped it to the top of my to-read list. Handbook is an ambitious book, weaving in lots of people and places over several years, with two main plot threads running parallel tracks for much of the story. In the hands of a less-skilled writer, this could have been a train wreck. Fortunately, Michele keeps everything flowing as she weaves her tale, creating an engaging read. I had to stop midway through for about a week because of real life scheduling issues, but as soon as I picked it up to finish, I was pulled back into this complex tale by the end of the first page.

I suspect this is one of those wonderful books that will reveal more on each successive re-read because there are so many layers and complexities to both the story and the characters. I’ve already recommended it to a few people, and I’m going to suggest it to my mom for a possible book club selection. It’s well worth a read.

View all my reviews

