Friday Reads: Dream Boy, Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors

Anybody else feel like their to-read list is about to topple over? I’ve got two books I started and haven’t had time to finish that I’m hoping to get to today: Dream Boy by Jim Grimsley and The Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors by Michele Young-Stone. We’re not even going to talk about the other dozen books waiting for their turn.

This is a weird spot for me to be in, and my mom is probably laughing as she reads this. I read fast. Like seriously, freakishly fast. As in, the paper had me live-blog reading the last Harry Potter. I’d read two or three chapters, then pause and write a few grafs for the blog. (Paragraphs, in newsroom jargon.) Any guesses as to how long that took? Just over four hours. Four hours and 10 minutes, I think. Yeah, really freakishly fast. It’s not speed-reading either. (High school English teacher taught us how to speed-read when we tackled Jane Austen’s Emma senior year. Rest of the class had lots of comments about the idea of me reading any faster.) So for me to be backlogged on books is pretty much unheard of. Usually my problem is I don’t have anything new to read.

And yet, in the past two years as I’ve really spent a lot of my time each week writing, on top of a full-time job and a part-time job, I find myself picking up fewer books. I still read a lot, mostly online. I think I’m still going through a lot of words each week. But by the time I get through everything I need to each day, it’s 9:30 and I’m about to turn into a pumpkin.

So my Friday reads list ends up being the same books each week as I try and find the time to sit down and read. It’s a peculiar situation, and one I still haven’t figured out how to wrap my brain around. This week, I have a gym training all day Saturday and Sunday, fortunately at my gym instead of on the road. I’m hoping the required soak in the bath each night to ease aching muscles will give me time to finish both books. Fortunately, both happen to be paperbacks, not ebooks. We’ll see…

 

 

One thought on “Friday Reads: Dream Boy, Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors

  1. There are tons of good tv shows to choose from to say it’s the best. No matter what is said though, there is no doubt that this show ranks #1 of all of them. Yes, there are shows that are a bit older but this one still has charm. There is comedy, wit, and a little politics, easily moving it up to the top. They just don’t make them like this nowadays.

Comments are closed.